Stop Watching Me

This poem can be read below or listened to in a video made in collaboration with Alexis Quinn. Follow the link for the video

https://twitter.com/aquinnunbroken/status/1343862203838050306?s=21

Stop Watching Me ❌

Where were you when the tears began to fall, when the blood began to flow-And I was writing with it, on the wall?

Where were you when I was terrified?
Overwhelmed with thoughts of Suicide.

When my sky turned black
and I had lost all hope,
You left Me again, knowing I could not cope!

You sit watching Me on that CCTV, anything to avoid spending to with Me!

I don’t want You to watch Me, to gawp and stare,
To watch Me exist in a life, I can’t bare.

When I try to break it So You cannot use it to break Me…You just scream and shout, what’s all this ‘behaviour’ about?!

You grab Me, push Me, restrain Me-face down, hurt Me, until I’m struggling for breath, feeling like I am drowning, yet longing for death.

You see My pain, You hear Me cry, yet time and again You don’t bother to try,
You call the Police and tell them lies🤯
Which just fuels my thoughts and hopes to die.

©️ Dannielle Attree.

Leave a Comment